SQL Server Big Data Clusters Workshop at SQL Bits

On Thursday, 28 February 2019, I’ll be teaching a brand-new course from Microsoft called “Microsoft SQL Server Big Data Clusters Architecture”, which I’ll be delivering as a one-day workshop at SQL Bits in Manchester in the UK.

I wanted to explain how the course will work, since we’ll be covering a lot of information in a short time.

First, check out what you’ll learn at this location: https://github.com/BuckWoody/workshops/tree/master/SQL-SQL2019-BDCs

Since we’re covering so much information in a short time, and since it takes a pretty significant set of hardware/software to deploy a cluster capable of dealing with Petabytes of data, we’ll not have time to completely deploy everything during the course. You *can* complete the pre-requisites for the course and deploy your own cluster, but we’ll move on as you do that. Come ready to focus on the information itself, watch as I explain the deployment, and know that you’ll have the entire course to do it all later when you’ve got more time. Trust me, you’ll need to review the material again.

So why come? Why not just grab the course later (it will be public) and do it yourself? Well, you certainly can do that – that’s my intent for others that want to review the material. The advantage here is that since I’m on the Product Group that is developing SQL Server Big Data Clusters, you have a first-hand-source of information. And, I’m bringing other members of my team, so you’ll have a room full of experts teaching you how all this works, and explaining the technical details.

And we’ll cover everything from Linux to Kubernetes, from Spark to Containers. Did I mention this would be fairly intense?

I’m quite passionate about this product – it’s the culmination of my 35+ years of database experience, my experience on the Engineering Team for SQL Server 2008 and on, and my experience as an Applied Data Scientist.

One final thing – we’re in the Customer Technical Preview (CTP) phase of this product, so things will change as we go along. Not to worry, the major components and concepts are locked, but the commands, interfaces, and installation will get smoother as we approach General Availability (GA).

All that being said, I think you’ll find this a very valuable, if not intense, day of training. Oh, and did I mention that you’re welcomed to fork the GitHub, change it, and re-teach it if you like? Go for it.

See you in the UK. (Tell them to put the kettle on)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.